Posted by: Aly Edge | 18 February 2013

New AVCA top 15 poll, 2/18

Looks like I mostly got it right. UC Irvine are of course the new #1 team in the land, but it’s consensus #1, not unanimous. BYU still got two first-place votes, which I actually sort of like as a voting trend. If you think BYU’s body of work is stronger, what does it matter that they lost more recently than UCI? And it’s a makeable case, thought not one I’d try to make. BYU are now #2 but are only very slightly ahead of Long Beach State in third.

Ranks four through eight are exactly as my hypothetical ballot had them. And then there’s a tie for 9th, between Penn State and…USC. *sigh* We are on two different wavelengths, here, poll voters.

The part I’m happiest about is the lower sections of the poll, as Hawaii and Lewis both move up two ranks from last week. Cal Baptist and Pacific are also right where I had them, and then, hey there Harvard. It’s very nice to see the Crimson enter the national rankings, they’ve surely earned it. The team they replace is, fairly obviously,  Santa Barbara.

A season-high four teams appear in the also receiving votes section, and if I understand the poll correctly, one team (you’re not named in RV unless you’re on two or more ballots) got a single ninth-place vote. Seems a bit of an outlier, especially as I can’t really imagine who it could have been. My only guess would be Princeton, but…well, sorry fellas, but I don’t think your body of work puts you that high. (Now go out there and prove me wrong! 😛 )

You can view the complete poll here.


Leave a comment

Categories